Dula, Lobos lead gold medalist in PSL Lucena tilt


DECEMBER 17, 2017

SOURCE: http://www.manilatimes.net/dula-lobos-lead-gold-medalist-psl-lucena-tilt...

Record-breaker Marc Bryan Dula and Jordan Ken Lobos bannered the gold medalists in the 127th Philippine Swimming League (PSL) National Series – Long Course Swimming Meet held at the Alcala Sports Complex Swimming Pool in Lucena City.

Dula, a Wisenheimer Academy standout, stamped his class in the boys’ 10-year 50m backstroke with a record-breaking feat of 35.80 seconds, resetting his 36.05-second old mark in the National Series.

Dula outclassed Shan Kervie Medina, who posted 44.19 seconds and Reinielle Trinidad, who had a 44.50-second showing in the tournament supported by The Manila Times.

Also making his mark in the competition was Lobos, who topped the boys’ 14-year 50m backstroke in 31.47 seconds, besting silver medalist Lance Lotino (34.56) and bronze winner Christ Andal (35.81).

Diliman Preparatory School bets Lee Grant Cabral (boys’ 11-year 50m backstroke, 38.53), Ehm Alavy-Chafi (girls’ 9-year 50m backstroke, 44.72), Paula Carmela Cusing (girls’ 14-year 50m butterfly) and John Salinel (boys’ 9-year 50m butterfly, 44.93) copped gold medals in their respective events.

The other first place finishers were Mervier Mirandilla (boys’ 15-over 200m freestyle, 2:09.63), John Rala (boys’ 13-year 200m freestyle, 2:36.53), Yohan Cabana (boys’ 12-year 200m freestyle, 2:19.50), Hannah Halamani (girls’ 6-under 50m breaststroke, 1:44.68), and Heleina Glorioso (girls’ 8-year 50m breaststroke, 1:07.87).

The other gold winners were Gavin Guino, Lawrence Arabes, Agustin Mendoza, Ayeles Mirandilla, Angela Babiera, Althea Villapena, Christine De Luna, Marion Del Moro, John Paredes, Arianne Zarsuelo, Katherine Azores, Lia Babiera, Poleen Corpuz, Jasmine Del Moro and Charlize Cabana.

“It’s overwhelming to see these kids break records from time to time. It shows that they are improving so fast and we’re happy to see them grow. Some of them will be sent to international competitions next year,” said PSL President Susan Papa.